Afterpay: Shop now. enjoy now. pay later!

Sufjan Stevens - The Age Of Adz

Vinyl Revival

or make 4 interest-free payments of $12.50 fortnightly with Afterpay More info

Collections: Folk, Indie, Pop, Vinyl

Type: Vinyl

The Age of Adz (pronounced /ɒdz/)[2] is a 2010 album by American singer/songwriter Sufjan Stevens, released on October 12, 2010 by Asthmatic Kitty. It is Stevens' sixth studio album and his first song-based full-length album in five years, since the release of Illinois in 2005.

The album features a heavy use of electronics augmented by orchestration, and takes inspiration from the apocalyptic artwork of schizophrenic artist Royal Robertson. Stevens' use of electronics marked a radical departure from much of his previous work—most notably from Seven Swans and Michigan. Unlike Illinois, the lyrics do not explore events, characters or setting, but deal instead with themes and emotions on a personal level.

Critics praised the intimacy of the album, but many were divided over the change in style that Stevens had taken. Nonetheless, it appeared on several "best of 2010" lists—including those of Paste, The New York Times and MTV. Commercially, the album gave Stevens his career's best first week sales to date and was his highest charting album to date, peaking in the top ten on the Billboard 200.

Track listing

All songs written and composed by Sufjan Stevens.

1."Futile Devices"  2:11
2."Too Much"  6:44
3."Age of Adz"  8:00
4."I Walked"  5:01
5."Now That I'm Older"  4:56
6."Get Real Get Right"  5:10
7."Bad Communication"  2:24
8."Vesuvius"  5:26
9."All for Myself"  2:55
10."I Want to Be Well"  6:27
11."Impossible Soul"  25:35
Total length:

Related Items