Afterpay: Shop now. enjoy now. pay later!

Queen - It's A Kind Of Magic - (180 gm) - Half Speed Mastered

Vinyl Revival

or make 4 interest-free payments of $14.00 fortnightly with Afterpay More info

Collections: Rock, Vinyl

Type: Vinyl

A Kind of Magic is the twelfth studio album by British rock band Queen, released in 1986. It was their first studio album to be recorded digitally, and is based on the soundtrack to the film Highlander, the first in a series directed by Russell Mulcahy.

Although Queen would release another two albums with Freddie Mercury (excluding posthumous releases), A Kind of Magic would turn out to be the band's last album promoted with a concert tour, because of Mercury's diagnosis with AIDS the following year, which subsequently caused his death in 1991. For the first time in their career, the band allowed filming of them while they were in the recording studio. The video for "One Vision" shows them in various stages of writing and recording the song.

A Kind of Magic reached #1 in the UK, selling 100,000 copies in its first week, and remained in the UK charts for 63 weeks and sold about 6 million copies worldwide (600.000 in UK only). The album spawned four hit singles: the album's title track "A Kind of Magic", "One Vision", "Friends Will Be Friends", and "Who Wants to Live Forever", which features an orchestra conducted byMichael Kamen, while the last track, "Princes of the Universe", is the theme song to Highlander.

This album was half speed mastered and pressed on heavyweight 180 gram vinyl.

Track listing

Side one
1."One Vision"  Queen (Roger Taylor)5:10
2."A Kind of Magic"  Taylor4:24
3."One Year of Love"  John Deacon4:26
4."Pain Is So Close to Pleasure"  Deacon, Freddie Mercury4:21
5."Friends Will Be Friends"  Deacon, Mercury4:07
Side two
6."Who Wants to Live Forever"  Brian May5:15
7."Gimme the Prize (Kurgan's Theme)"  May4:34
8."Don't Lose Your Head"  Taylor4:38
9."Princes of the Universe"  Mercury3:32

Related Items