Skip to content
OPEN AUSTRALIA DAY 2020 / 11.00AM-4.00PM
OPEN AUSTRALIA DAY 2020 / 11.00AM-4.00PM

Nina Simone - Wild is the Wind (UNI)


Nina Simone's sixth album for Philips Records was Wild Is the Wind, released in 1966.

The album was compiled from several recordings that were left over from sessions for previous Philips albums. The album was a Billboard magazine 'special merit pick' on release, with the reviewer commenting: 'Simone ... sets up an exceptional romantic mood that offers top listening delight'.

The song 'Four Women' was released as a single, and gained attention when banned by the New York jazz focused radio station WLIB due to concern over the lyrics. 'Wild Is The Wind' was covered by David Bowie on his 1976 studio recording Station to Station.



  1. I Love Your Lovin' Ways
  2. Four Women
  3. Lilac Wine (From 'Dance Me A Song')
  4. Break Down And Let It All Out
  5. Either Way I Lose
  6. Why Keep On Breaking My Heart
  7. Wild Is The Wind
  8. Black Is The Color Of My True Love's Hair
  9. If I Should Lose You
Liquid error: Could not find asset snippets/preorder-now.liquid