Jack River - Sugar Mountain

Universal Music

or make 4 interest-free payments of $10.00 fortnightly with Afterpay More info

Collections: All, New Releases, Universal Music, Vinyl

Type: Vinyl

It might take a few listens if electric acid pop isn't generally your thing, but the stories and sounds of Jack River, aka Holly Rankin, are ultimately worth listening to.

The first three songs alone highlight the diversity of Rankin's sound, opening up with the calming Her Smile before moving into the faster-paced Ballroom. Confess is a beautifully written song, opening intimately and quietly before entering into full-blown poppy goodness. Stardust & Rust beautifully articulates romantic scepticism. This album has a way of making you want to sway sadly in the middle of a crowded room due to its melancholy themes yet feel-good backing tracks. In Infinity is the final track of the album, and a poignant one at that, as Rankin tones down the pop elements, singing of the loneliness and loss that assumingly led to this record.


  1. Her Smile
  2. Ballroom
  3. Confess
  4. Limo Song
  5. Fool's Gold
  6. Mars (feat. Reuben Rankin)
  7. So High
  8. Stardust & Rust
  9. Saturn (feat. Reuben Rankin)
  10. Fault Line
  11. Fields
  12. Constellation Ball
  13. In Infinity

Related Items