Skip to content
OPENING 10.00AM WED 28/07/2021 (03) 9419 5070
OPENING 10.00AM WED 28/07/2021 (03) 9419 5070
The Weeklys | August 7th-Vinyl Revival

The Weeklys | August 7th

  • Travis Scott – STARGAZING

  • It was difficult to choose a song from Travis’ new album ASTROWORLD. It’s an incredibly strong album, maybe the rapper’s best. But opener ‘STARGAZING’ sets the scene and so gets the nod. Alongside A$AP Rocky, Travis has been blazing a trail that can best be described as psychedelic trap, and ‘STARGAZING’ is his opus.

    ‘STARGAZING’ starts in pretty standard fashion for the Houston native. A clean beat. Travis rapping about the usual: drugs. Nothing special. But when the song begins to fade out and you think it’s over. BANG! Part II of the track kicks in hard. The beat switches, it’s unexpected, and it’s packed with a hostile bass line beneath creepy twinkling. It’s a bold, brave way to open his third album and Travis pulls it off to perfection.

  • Matt Corby – No Ordinary Life

  • Matt’s back and we’re all the better for it. The new single sees a departure of sorts for the Aussie crooner. Generally, Matt’s soothing vocals are the main attraction, backed by soulful percussion and finger-picked guitar. However, the characteristic crooning isn’t as immediate on ‘No Ordinary Life’. Also, it’s driven by a beautiful piano arpeggio. The unique features of the song are no detriment to its quality. This is Matt Corby, people. The man only deals in quality.

  • Moses Sumney – Rank & File

  • Moses’ critically-acclaimed debut album, Aromanticism, took him to new heights following its 2017 release. Now, the avant-garde RnB artist is looking to keep the momentum flowing with his forthcoming EP, Black in Deep Red, 2014, due this Friday. ‘Rank & File’ is the lead single from the three-track project, with the track offering more dense layering than Moses usually delivers. It’s obvious the track – along with the EP – has a special inspiration. It’s motivated by the LA musician’s experience at a protest relating to a murder. Rank & File is uplifting, surging with brilliant effect.

  • Robyn – Missing U

  • The Swedish pop superstar has been very quiet of late, but ‘Missing U’ is a powerful announcement that Robyn is definitely not done with. The new track immediately picks up where popstar left us: bold, sparkling synths to kick things off. The track is another collab with Joseph Mount, member of seminal synth-rock band Metronomy. His influence provides ‘Missing U’ with vital dance sensibility, and of course, Robyn brings the arena-pop grandeur.

  • ALASKALASKA – Monster

  • It seems the impact of our very own Middle Kids is briskly spreading throughout the world. With ‘Monster’, South Londoners ALASKALASKA are near copy-cats of the indie-pop brand that Middle Kids have launched. The song-writing is remarkably similar, as bandleader Lucinda John-Duarte discusses a relationship gone sour. Despite all the similarities it’s still a stand-out. The guitar-driven track has tight instrumentation and is extremely catchy. ALASKALASKA are ones to watch.

    Previous article The Weeklys | 20th Aug
    Next article The Weeklys | July 30th

    Leave a comment

    Comments must be approved before appearing

    * Required fields